The fascinating keelboat for sailors who love regattas but avoid the weight room.
2.4mR - SUPER 3 website in progress
The class

The class

The class belongs to the family of meter rule yachts such as 5.5mR, 6mR, 8mR or 12mR. These boats are named after their measurement value, which results from the length, width and displacement values ​​of the hull as well as the sail dimensions. The final value here is 2.4mR.

The class was created in connection with the regattas for the America's Cup in the 12mR class off Newport (Rhode Island), USA, in 1980. Back then, “small” 12s were designed for sponsorship and training purposes, which is why the class is often (incorrectly) called Mini Twelve - because these were quite undemanding compared to the 2.4.

In contrast to the 5.5 or 12 series, the design options for the 2.4 series are very limited, so that "old" designs are still competitive with new designs. The Norlin MK III, drawn by Peter Norlin, is the most popular in the world. However, other constructions such as Södergren, Stradivari or Super 3 are fully competitive.

The 2.4 has the World Sailing International Class status. The class is spread around the world - the focus is on Europe, North America and Australia, but there are also considerable fleets in Asia and South America. At world championships, fields of over 100 participants are common.

The 2.4mR is a unique class! Certainly good to sail for beginners, but if you want to sail fast it becomes challenging. Then good trimming skills, tactical knowledge and regatta experience are required.

See also Wikipedia .

(Visits 61)

2.4mR - SUPER3
Die Klasse

Die Klasse

Die Klasse gehört zur Familie der Metre-Rule-Yachten wie 5.5mR, 6mR, 8mR oder 12mR. Diese Boote sind nach ihrem Vermessungswert benannt, der sich unter anderem aus den Längen-, Breiten- und Verdrängungswerten des Rumpfes sowie den Segelmaßen ergeben. Hier kommt als Endwert 2.4mR heraus.

Die Klasse ist im Zusammenhang mit den Regatten um den America’s Cup in der 12mR Klasse vor Newport (Rhode Island), USA, im Jahr 1980 entstanden. Damals entwarf man „kleine“ 12er zu Sponsoring- und Trainingszwecken, weswegen die Klasse auch häufig (fälschlicherweise) als Mini-Zwölfer bezeichnet – denn diese waren im Verhältnis zum 2.4er seglerisch recht anspruchslos.

Anders etwa als bei den 5.5ern oder den 12ern sind beim 2.4er die Konstruktionsmöglichkeiten sehr eingeschränkt, so dass „alte“ Konstruktionen weiterhin konkurrenzfähig sind gegenüber Neuentwürfen. Die von Peter Norlin gezeichnete Norlin MK III hat weltweit die größte Verbreitung. Andere Konstruktionen wie Södergren, Stradivari oder Super3 sind jedoch voll konkurrenzfähig.

Die 2.4mR hat den World Sailing International Class Status. Die Klasse ist weltweit verbreitet – Schwerpunkte sind Europa, Nordamerika und Australien, aber auch in Asien und Südamerika gibt es beachtliche Flotten. Bei Weltmeisterschaften sind Felder von über 100 Teilnehmern üblich.

Die 2.4mR ist eine einzigartige Klasse! Durchaus für Anfänger gut zu segeln, aber wenn man schnell segeln möchte, wird es anspruchsvoll. Dann sind gute Trimmfähigkeiten, Taktikkenntnisse und Regattaerfahrungen gefragt.

Siehe auch Wikipedia.

(Besuche 379)
GermanEnglish