The fascinating keelboat for sailors who love regattas but avoid the weight room.
2.4mR - SUPER 3 website in progress
Ulli Libor

Ulli Libor

After an extensive sailing and regatta life in various boat classes, Ulli Libor entered the 2014 in 2.4 and is now driving his fifth boat, a SUPER 3.

What he particularly enthuses about the ship, he expresses as follows:

A higher coaming and a rounded deck are the distinctive changes that do not show any influence on the boat speed. But it sails drier on deck.

The longitudinal side stringers give the hull considerable rigidity and thus better control over the shrouds and forestay. This means a traceable profile setting of the sails and thus better height in the wind and setting for speed.

Rig and sails voluntarily have the unit dimensions of the OD rules, which results in restrictions in the hull dimensions due to the formula (i.e. more uniformity).

The keel has more wall thickness and is therefore a little heavier.

In addition, Ulli says:

Before I got into the 2.4mR, I was a one design advocate with reservations about construction classes. In the meantime it became clear to me that the meter formula (for displacers) has the best conditions to race against each other with the same racing value, provided that some limit dimensions are specified, as is the case with the 2.4mR. Without these limit values, the 5,5mR class, for example, developed negatively. With totally different keel constructions and sail dimensions, different classes developed that can no longer sail against each other equally.

Ulli's sailing vita is impressive: he sailed a pirate, OK dinghy, Finn Dinghi, Tempest, Flying Dutchman, star boat, kite, quarter-tonner, half-tonner, Admiral's Cup yachts, 12mR, 5,5mR. In the Flying Dutchman he won the silver and bronze medals at the Olympic Games in 1968 and 1972. Since 2014 he has felt at home in the 2.4, which is extremely demanding in terms of sailing trim and tactics, but does not require physical, but mental fitness. 

(Visits 37)

2.4mR - SUPER3
Ulli Libor

Ulli Libor

Ulli Libor stieg nach einem umfangreichen Segel- und Regattaleben in den verschiedensten Bootsklassen im Jahre 2014 in den 2.4er ein und fährt mittlerweile sein fünftes Boot, eine SUPER3.

Was ihn an dem Schiff besonders begeistert, drückt er so aus:

Ein höherer Süllrand und ein gerundetes Deck sind die markanten Änderungen, die keinen Einfluss auf die Bootsgeschwindigkeit erkennen lassen.  Es segelt sich aber trockener an Deck.

Die längslaufenden Seitenstringer geben dem Rumpf erhebliche Steifheit und damit bessere Kontrolle über Wanten und Vorstag. Das bedeutet nachvollziehbare Profileinstellung der Segel und damit bessere Höhe am Wind und Einstellung für Speed.

Rigg und Segel haben freiwillig die Einheitsabmessungen der OD Regeln, woraus sich formelbedingt Einschränkungen in den Rumpfabmessungen (also mehr Einheitlichkeit) ergeben.

Der Kiel hat mehr Wandstärke und ist damit etwas schwerer.

Darüber hinaus meint Ulli:

Vor meinem Einstieg in die 2.4mR war ich ein Verfechter des One Design mit Vorbehalten zu Konstruktionsklassen. Zwischenzeitlich wurde mir klar, dass die Metre Formel (für Verdränger) beste Voraussetzungen hat mit gleichem Rennwert gegeneinander zu regattieren, sofern einige Grenzabmessungen vorgegeben werden, wie es bei der 2.4mR der Fall ist. Ohne diese Grenzwerte hat sich z.B. die 5,5mR Klasse negativ entwickelt.  Mit total unterschiedlichen Kielkonstruktionen und Segelabmessungen entwickelten sich verschiedene Klassen, die nicht mehr gleichwertig gegeneinander segeln können.

Ullis Segel-Vita kann sich sehen lassen: Er segelte Pirat, OK-Jolle, Finn Dinghi, Tempest, Flying Dutchman, Starboot, Drachen, Viertel-Tonner, Halb-Tonner, Admiral’s Cup Yachten, 12mR, 5,5mR. Im Flying Dutchman errang er die Silber- und die Bronzemedaillen bei den Olympischen Spielen 1968 und 1972. Seit 2014 fühlt er sich angekommen im 2.4er, der höchst anspruchsvoll in Sachen Segeltrimm und -taktik ist, aber keine körperliche, wohl aber mentale Fitness erfordert. 

(Besuche 124)
EnglishGerman